Guest Reviews 2016

Whilst searching Google Earth for accommodation we came across Coachman’s Cottage. With it taking selected dogs it would normally be something we would keep away from. We were also wary of the glowing reviews as we have been caught before with reviews on owners own websites as they have turned out to be false and placed there by the owners themselves. On this occasion how wrong could we be. Not finding anything else suitable and after speaking to Penny we decided to take a chance and delighted we did so. People like us who do not normally consider pet friendly accommodation should not be put off this property. There was not a single dog hair to be found or even the faintest trace of doggy smell. The cottage was immaculate and had a homely feel as soon as you walked in. Everything you would require was provided and the welcome hamper was really appreciated eliminating the need to go shopping as soon as you arrive. It is ideally situated in a lovely peaceful village for visiting attractions in Wiltshire, Somerset and parts of Gloucestershire and is the perfect place to come back to and relax after a day out. Penny and her Dad were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Previous reviewers have not left much to be said without repeating their words therefore we can only say that we fully agree with everything that has been said previously. Due to different tastes and expectations we usually do not recommend things to other people other than saying we liked it but on this occasion we would not hesitate to recommend Coachman’s Cottage to anyone. It would certainly be the top of our list if we were visiting the area again.
Thank you Penny for a great few days break in December 2016.

Response: This will be a helpful review for people with aforementioned misgivings, assuming it is genuine of course! I always question dog owners closely before taking a booking as we work hard at keeping the cottage extremely clean. I agree that reviews could be fabricated by owners, it has always been our policy to post ALL GENUINE reviews, but you will have to take my word for that. To this end we have re-joined “Quality in Tourism”, after an absence of about 5 years, an independent body who inspect the cottage annually, checking that the whole business reaches a set standard, Coachmans Cottage has been awarded 4* with a Gold Award for excellence and achieves 100% for cleanliness.

Jeff G. December 2016
Home from Home   5* 

My first visit to Wiltshire, despite living in the UK for 50 years! Delighted I left it to my friend to organise and book our stay at Coachman’s Cottage (from SA), having picked out all the green countryside that surrounded the town of Steeple Ashton. We have done many road trips in SA and some in the UK, but I can honestly say, this was the most comfortable 5 star accommodation we’ve ever had the good fortune to stay in. Not only were our hosts the most welcoming, but the village soon felt like home too, with visits to the fabulous village store, and pub where we enjoyed several excellent meals. We wanted for nothing; from the beautiful furnishings; well equipped kitchen; welcome hamper and home made brownies and marmalade, to several files of information of stunning places to visit within a short distance of the village. Thanks to Penny, and her Dad, Peter (who calls himself the Maintenance Man!)
My car was left nearby while I went away for a couple of days, and inadvertently I left the passenger window wide-open, which fortunately they noticed while out walking with their dog, and took the situation in hand, going beyond the call of duty, by expertly sealing up the window to keep any rain out, and keeping a close eye on the car, ensuring I had a dry car for my return journey to Kent. Thank you Penny, and Peter. I hope there will be other opportunities to visit your lovely cottage with my friends again in the not too distant future. We had such a happy and comfortable stay, and enjoyed visiting the places you recommended during the day, and returning “home” to our beautiful cottage late afternoon for tea, and later enjoying our evening in front of the super log-fire, discussing the days events.

Response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Coachmans and Steeple Ashton. We were only too pleased that our endeavours with your car kept out the rain and wild animals and very many thanks for the super truffles. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best, Penny.

Heather Y-B, Kent. November 2016
Great find for Birthday Celebrations!    5* 

What a great find!. This was an internet search which did not disappoint. Penny and her father Peter are just the perfect hosts and nothing appears to be too much trouble. The accommodation is just perfection with absolutely nothing overlooked. beautiful lounge, comfortable beds, top quality linen and kitchen equipment and the wood burner with wood and kindling supplied was just the cherry on the top. The cottage occupies a really convenient location for exploring the countryside of Wiltshire and in walking distance of the pub and the super village store which is a veritable Aladdin’s cave of provisions, home bakes and fabulous gifts. I was visiting from South Africa so it might be a while before I can enjoy the comforts of Coachmans Cottage again, but will certainly recommend it to my friends and hope to return sometime in the future. Best wishes to Peter and Penny. Keep up the good work!!

Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Coachmans Cottage. It was a pleasure meeting you and your 2 friends, we are very pleased that you were so pleased with the cottage and village. We very much look forward to welcoming you back one day in the future. Best, Penny.

Brenda F. South Africa. November 2016
Perfection   5* 

We had a really lovely 9 days at Coachmans Cottage and both agreed it was a fantastic place to stay. Penny had set out a welcome tea tray with homemade brownies and there was also a hospitality hamper on arrival. We were met with a small tour of the house and we felt all our needs were catered for. The house was immaculate and yet it felt a real home from home. Our visits included: The Bath Pump room restaurant to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary, Wells Cathedral for the one wet day and Stourhead Gardens. The local pub The Longs Arms was a very friendly venue for a good evening meal and we were fed well. Also on several nights in the cottage we lit the wood fire which made it very cosy. We both felt we would struggle to find fault with this accommodation and agreed we had had a perfect getaway. Thank you so much to Penny & Peter.

My Response

Another lovely review from more of our 5* guests. Thank you. You picked the nicest time of year (I think!) to visit Stourhead Gardens and this year the autumnal colours are especially spectacular. Sadly you didn’t manage to visit Westonbirt Arboretum, hopefully on your itinerary for your next visit. I am so pleased that Coachmans Cottage proved so successful for your anniversary. We look forward to your return. Best, Penny.

Simon K. October 2016
A relaxing visit   5* 

When I found this great accomodation on the internet, I immediately fell in love with it. The pictures of the house, of its luxury interior and of the village convinced me from the very first moment that this was THE place to spend my next holidays. The first contact (by phone) with Penny, the landlady of the cottage, was very pleasant which was already a good start for me! So I booked it right away. And I must say, I do not regret it. To the contrary, reality bested all expectations. I have spent a most wonderful week in Coachmans Cottage and in the very warm and inviting community of Steeple Ashton. Everything, and I really mean everything, was perfect. As written on the website, the cottage is most certainly immaculate, individual, comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. The beds were luxurious and comfortable. I was also very happy to find a well fitted kitchen with all accessories to cater for myself. I expect from a vacation home that I am comfortable and feel at home. I did. Penny and Peter did everything to make me feel at home. When I arrived I found butter, milk, bread, eggs and grounded coffee in the kitchen! They gave me lots of very useful tips for excursions in the area. And we had our chitchat (in a very pleasant way!) every day (I wanted it that way, and I appreciated it too). It was so nice. You must know that Peter and Penny live next door. So, when I needed something or just had questions with regards to the cottage or needed some nice hints for a daytrip, I just rang their bell and we talked. The village: Steeple Ashton is a very small village. There is a lovely little village shop on the main street, run by volunteers from the community. So nice people too. They put aside the daily newspaper and croissants for me every morning. And when I collected those, I had a coffee in the shop (which is served by very friendly people). I was taken up the belltower of the village church and visited the bell ringers. The church warden invited me also up on the roof of the bell tower and showed me the great view from up there over the area. My idea of holiday is connecting with the people of the community. And I must say that the contacts with all the people of Steeple Ashton, including Peter and Penny, was one of my nicest experiences here. The area: You should really go out and make daytrips. The area is wonderful. I can certainly recommend Coachmans Cottage to all those who would like to spend a nice and relaxing holiday.

My Response

Oh my goodness, what a glowing review. We enjoyed hearing all about the area that you are from too. I have mentioned before that as we live next door to Coachmans we tread the fine line between giving our guests privacy and being helpful with our local knowledge. Whilst we spoke with you daily thank you for respecting our privacy too. Best, Penny

Egon V. September 2016
Spent a fantastic holiday in Coachmans Cottage   5* 

We first discovered Coachman’s Cottage 3 years ago and after such an idyllic stay in a peaceful location central to everything we wanted to see in the West Country we decided to go back.
They say that you cannot go back without disappointment but we found that Penny and Peter had the cottage even more comfortable. It confirmed our view that you are not just renting a luxury cottage, but joining a friendly, tight knit community.
Penny and Peter were perfect hosts giving us travel tips and a comprehensive list of local pubs to savour the local fare. In short we could not recommend Coachman’s Cottage more highly and will provide details to any Australian friends wanting to see the West Country.

My Response: Thank you so much for this glowing review. It is always a delight to welcome back returning guests and “old friends”, the super people that we meet make this business so worthwhile. We work hard at keeping up the standard of Coachmans Cottage and to this end make constant improvements. Since you left 2 weeks ago we have taken advantage of a gap in bookings to undertake work needed, in addition to smaller additions and decorating, the twin bedroom has new carpet and pictures and the master bedroom now has an upgraded 1500 sprung mattress. Now in the 11th year as a holiday cottage, guests attracted to Coachmans appreciate the personal and caring service that we offer….it is a very fine line between being helpful but not intrusive hosts.

Penny and Barry W. Australia. September 2016
Tranquility in Steeple Ashton   5* 

This is our 10th stay in this delightful cottage, & we’ve already booked for next time. Penny & Peter give a warm welcome to an immaculate and comfortable ‘home from home’. Everything is kept to a very high standard and the location is central to lots of beautiful and interesting places.

We are always happy to welcome you back to Coachmans Cottage and your feedback on ongoing improvements are always appreciated. Thank you for posting this review and we will see you next time. Best, Penny.

Sue and Tony M August 2016
This is our 10th stay   5* 

We’re an ex-Pat English couple with the last 23 years spent in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. We visit England annually, usually concentrating on previous hunting grounds in Wiltshire and North Yorkshire. We fly via Dubai, using its useful Durban to Gatwick route. We hire cottages that are large enough to act as a hub for our friends. We vary choices and decided that Coachman’s Cottage in Steeple Ashton looked suitable; Penny’s accessibility and detailed advice beforehand overcame any doubts about centralised booking. And how right this turned out to be for a touring overseas couple. An easily reached but captivating English village, enduring and oozing pride in its summer appearance; an ideally situated ancient cottage, near pub, church, shop and important routes; detailed and sensible comforts in the cottage inventory; immaculately equipped kitchen with all household facilities; instant friendship and guidance from Penny and her father; wonderful peace and calm for sundowners in the garden amid idyllic surroundings. We regard ourselves as reasonably seasoned travellers, never completely out of touch with England and the English but we cannot recall a better spot for a traveller to unwind and begin to absorb the unique charm and rewards of the English rural lifestyle. We congratulate Penny without reservation in running the perfect self-catering cottage. We would love to return and pick up her friendship where we left off.
My Response
Oh my goodness. What to say in response to this wonderful review? I am very pleased that you loved Coachmans Cottage and Steeple Ashton so much. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you and many thanks. Best, Penny.

James and Jeanie July 2016
The perfect start to a memorable holiday   5* 

We had an excellent time in this lovely cottage. Brownies and home made marmalade upon arrival made us feel welcome.  Outside sitting space, excellent pub nearby, lots to see in the neighbourhood. Highly recommended.

Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Coachmans Cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will see you again on your next visit to England. Best, Penny.

Sabine V. July 2016
Lovely, well-equipped cottage   5* 

Had a wonderful time at Coachmans Cottage. A very comfortable and homely cottage with everything you could need- very well equipped. Set in a beautiful English country village, which is very welcoming. We had a wonderful time exploring nearby attractions including Stonehenge and Bath.
Owner’s Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review Coachmans Cottage, we are really pleased that you had such a good time exploring the area. We think that Steeple Ashton is a very special and friendly village too. Best, Penny

Rebecca S July 2016
Beautiful homely cottage in a welcoming village   5* 

Coachmans’ cottage was one of the best self- catering cottages I have stayed in. Beautifully furnished, well equipped and very comfortable. A lovely welcome tray included everything we needed for tea and breakfast. A lovely quiet location too.
Owner’s Response: Thank you so much for posting this glowing review. I am delighted that Coachmans Cottage and Steeple Ashton proved such a hit with you. We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Best, Penny.

Annette H July 2016
Delightful cottage with a warm welcome.   5* 

Really enjoyed our stay in the cottage and felt at home as soon as we arrived, with a lovely welcome pack and home made chocolate cake to greet us on our arrival. The cottage is very cosy, well equipped and comfortable for three to four people. It also benefits from a small courtyard at the front, which acts as a sun trap during the late afternoon / early evening.

The kitchen is very small & narrow, so you need to be well organized if you are cooking an evening meal due to the limited space. However, If you don’t fancy cooking, there are plenty of excellent pubs & restaurants in the local area, all within 15 minutes of the cottage.

Penny the owner was also so helpful during our stay, offering advice if needed on certain locations or just saying hello after walking her two dogs.

I would gladly recommend the cottage and hope to return in the future.

Owner’s Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Coachmans Cottage and visiting this area which has so much to offer. I am sorry that you found the size of the kitchen challenging, we have equipped it with everything a guest would expect and more, I do stress in adverts that it is a “small separate galley kitchen” and show a photo and floor plan. I am pleased to read that you hope to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to Steeple Ashton. Best, Penny.

G K J July 2016
Totally relaxing cottage in a quiet location   5* 

What a fabulous place to stay! The Village is idyllic and the Cottage is so beautiful!. Well equipped, tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable, it never failed to delight. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Penny and Peter. And the welcome pack was a tasty surprise! We came over to Wiltshire from our home in Spain for our Daughter’s Wedding and the Wedding party left from Coachman’s Cottage. What a wonderful place for photographs! And such a tranquil haven for a very hectic week! We will definitely return! Thoroughly recommend it!

Response: Thank you for posting your thoughts. It was fun meeting you and a first for Coachmans Cottage, we have had wedding guests stay in the past but never the bride and family leaving Coachmans for the church…and the sun shone for you all! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best, Penny.

Mandy and Don May 2016
A Tranquil Haven   5* 

Located in a superb location within Wiltshire, this really is a beautiful & well-equipped cottage set in such tranquil surroundings. Oozing quality, it is impeccably clean with lovely décor proving to be a great base to visit picturesque villages and historical sites. The charming owners, Penny & Peter, also provided a fabulous welcome pack which was greatly appreciated. Without doubt, this accommodation is very highly recommended.

Response  It was a pleasure meeting you and I’m so pleased that Coachmans Cottage and Steeple Ashton proved such a hit, despite the poor weather! Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon. Best, Penny

Steve, Audrey & Josh June
Special Place   5* 

We stayed in this most comfortable cottage for a week in mid-April. Pleasant surroundings and helpful owners. The village is well located for many Wiltshire and Somerset attractions and has an excellent general store, a good pub (The Longs Arms). Thank you. We will return.
Response: Thank you and we are looking forward to your return. I am glad that we could be of help and that you enjoyed your stay. Best, Penny

Geoff and Margaret H April 2016
A Comfortable Bolthole   5* 

Enjoyed our stay at Coachmans Cottage, in the beautiful village of Steeple Ashton. Would love to go back as Penny and Peter made us very welcome.
There are plenty of national trust places to go and visit and this is a good base to go from. They also supplied a lovely welcome pack full of different goodies, top class. Thank you again.

Response:  Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Breakfast Hamper and we would love to welcome you back again one day soon. Best, Penny.

mike and rosemary May 2016
our stay at Coachmans Cottage   5* 

Coachmans Cottage exceeded our expectations. It is a lovely cottage in a beautiful, quiet village. Owners, Penny and Peter, were very friendly and welcoming and the cottage was decorated and furnished to very high standards. Whilst we did not intend to do much self catering the small kitchen was fully equipped with cooker, washer/dryer, microwave, dishwasher and full range of crockery and cooking utensils. Penny had provided a welcome basket with bread, butter, milk, eggs and marmalade – a very nice touch. With televisions in the living room and main bedroom and Wi-Fi available we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The Longs Arms is only 2 minutes walk away and provided very nice meals. Steeple Ashton is an ideal location for seeing the many sights of Wiltshire and I have no hesitation in recommending Coachmans Cottage.

Response:  Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation which I hope will be of help to future potential guests. We hope to tempt you to return to Coachmans Cottage one day. Best, Penny.

Allan Milne May 2016
Exceeded our expectations   5* 

Thank you Penny and Peter for allowing us us to stay in your beautiful cottage. The village is charming and so friendly. A perfect break from city life.

Response.. Thank you for your review, certain very different from life in the Capital. We look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn. Best, Penny

A and S Scott, March 2016
Lovely Cottage Great Village   5* 

This was our second visit to Coachman’s Cottage and our stay lived up to our memory of the last visit. Again we were welcomed by our friendly Hosts Peter & Penny who were most helpful in a pleasant and unobtrusive manner.
The cottage is very well appointed and centrally located in the village of Steeple Ashton. It offers secluded privacy whilst being in the heart of the community. Safe Off Road Car Parking is included.

Geographically, Steeple Aston is convenient for visiting unspoilt ‘historical’ towns located in beautiful countryside: Bath, Bradford on Avon, Marlborough, Frome, & Devizes etc. A Big Thank you to Penny & Peter for a lovely week.

Peter & Cynthia Egan
A Wonderful Week   5* 

If you are looking for a little piece of heaven on earth, then Coachmans cottage is the place for you. Beautifully furnished, with everything required to make a very comfortable home from home.a delicious welcome pack including home made jam and yummy chocolate cake !the village is delightful and very friendly,and the local area has an abundance of interesting places to visit.your hosts penny and Peter could not be more helpful and informative.all I can add is, go!!’

Sylvia Foley

A Little Piece Of Heaven    5*